02
May
21

Ten thoughts on Mental Health from the heart of a pastor

We just had our Mental Health Sunday this past week at our church.  It was a great morning as we strove to help people know that there are help and resources available.  I wrote out a few thoughts as I contemplated the journey I have been on with so many in my world.  Knowing my time was limited, I condensed it down to ten statements that came from my heart and experiences.  Little did I know how many people would be impacted.  Since I have been asked by so many to pass along my list, I decided to make them a blog.  I am not going to unpack them each here, but I will probably expand on some in future blog entries that I find strike a chord.  Of course, you can always reach out to me and I will be happy to explain them.  My desire is that you will find hope and help in these thoughts.

  • Don’t think that you know exactly what someone else is going through.
  • Don’t neglect your other children, marriage or family.
  • Don’t fail to take time to breathe deep breaths.
  • Know this will probably be the new normal.
  • Take time to mourn what you planned your life would be.
  • Know that you cannot fix it.
  • Know that you can offer resources and encouragement, but you cannot force.
  • Listen, pray, and seek.
  • You will make mistakes, but you are not defined by them.
  • Know that God truly and deeply loves you and your loved ones.

0 Responses to “Ten thoughts on Mental Health from the heart of a pastor”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 88 other subscribers

Archives